It’s Not Me, It’s You.

July 31, 2008

Dear Internet

I think we need to see other people. Just for a while.

Of course I still love you, it’s just… we work together all day, and then we work a little on the side, we get together over weekends, and somehow, between all the tinkering and analysis, between all the strategies and printouts, I’ve lost sight of just how much fun we used to have together. Imagine that. (Can you?) Fun. I miss the old days of casual, carefree, browsing – dropping in on friends for a quick snark and a belly-laugh, window-shopping until my fingers hurt, drinking in information until my eyes blurred. God. When it all get so serious?

Pumpkin, the thrill has gone.

So. I’m going to go analogue for a bit. Minimise the deadlines, dust off that mountain of titles next to my bed, dust off the Insignificant Other, take up a new hobby, go *outside*, actually see people. Socially.

Distance. Perspective. Enchanting Views… that sort of thing.

And then, we’ll see.

Au revoir, dearies.

T’Missus xxx

PS: Thanks for showing up. You’ve been wonderful. Even when I haven’t.

18 Responses to “It’s Not Me, It’s You.”

  1. kyknoord Says:

    Fuck. Fuckitty fuck fuck. Fuck.
    *sniff*

  2. Dolce Says:

    *wail* *snot* *trane* *beating of breast* *tearing of hair*

    DON’T GOOOOOOOOOO. I’LL CHAAAAAAAAAANGE. YOU CAN’T DOOOOOOOO THIS TO ME.

    Or something.

    Have fun pickle.

    *mwah* *mwah*

    Toodles.

  3. daisyfae Says:

    it was my relationship with my canine life partner dog, wasn’t it? alas…

    will miss your unique and wicked-sharp inches, but understand the overload. when something’s gotta go, it’s gotta go!

    best to you!

  4. thegnukid Says:

    you will be sorely missed… your expressive wit was always a pleasure and anxiously awaited at the end of each week…

    now… when you hear the soft whisper of desire in the dark of night and you’re not sure where it’s coming from, that will be me… my longing for you to whet my appetite once more for whimsical faldoral… and, maybe, drop a line quietly to let me know you are still there and happy…

    Bon chance, ma chere…

  5. The Tart Says:

    U will be very much missed. For the 2nd time I might add!
    If you every publish the escapades of Edgar, Edna & the rest … Let me know. I want to buy a signed copy!

    : (
    The Tart
    All the best …
    (Now I must either watch TV or get a life … ?)

  6. Parenthesis Says:

    All of the above. We’ll miss you Mrs B!


  7. Thank you, dears – I’m quite touched. (But you knew that already.) And terribly grateful for your kind words – or in Kyk’s case, the feeelthy ones.

    I’ve grown rather fond of mon plus proche et plus cher* (and you too, dears) so I’m seeing this as an extended family holiday, rather than an out-and-out familicide. If we don’t come to blows over the rings in the bathtub, I’m hoping we’ll all make it back to the Very Small Screen in due course.

    At the very least, I’ll try and drop in unexpectedly at your pads with a little more frequency in the future.

    * French peuple are not allowed to laugh at me. At moi. Okay?

  8. Parenthesis Says:

    It’s Friday. So here I am. Then I remembered. Bugger.


  9. *sigh*

    And just when I got back to blogging…. Eish!

  10. wendren Says:

    So true! What happened? Where did the fun go? … and where did going outside to have go?
    I love the way you write too…. I am glad I have come across your blog. :)

  11. thegnukid Says:

    still yearning and remembering…

  12. infini Says:

    I *miss* you

  13. debi Says:

    ho hum – still checking in, still all quiet. tsk tsk.

  14. Parenthesis Says:

    All of the above, Mrs B, all of the above … xx

  15. Miss P Says:

    Dear Ms B
    If you were thinking we’d forgotten you, think on…
    http://randomburblings.wordpress.com/2009/01/07/nerds-are-hot/
    Love ya too!
    Miss P

  16. Sassy Miss P Says:

    Just swinging by to say ‘llo.


Leave a Reply

