Happily Ever Afterlife.

June 20, 2008

Till death...

“What is it this time,” tut-tutted Edna as the clash of steel

echoed from the parapet, “the choirmistress in Utah?”

“Fresh bloodstains on your Mother’s collar,” whispered Nanny Swedbourg,

distractedly ladling more starch into her tea.

~*~

14 Responses to “Happily Ever Afterlife.”

  1. thegnukid Says:

    “Well, I certainly warned her to get a sharper razor,” bemoaned Edna, playfully swatting at her pet cicada.


  2. “I can see I’m going to have to take an early retirement,” snapped Benitez, lobbing a Remington from the ramparts.

  3. Dolce Says:

    God. It’s sooooooo romantic. I’m even tempted to take my shovel to the cemetary again to see what I can dig up. *sigh*


  4. I know, dear. I’ve been feeling uncharacteristically smooshy and swoony, myself. Most unbecoming.

    It’s probably just all that starch.

  5. kyknoord Says:

    Puts me in mind of the infamous pit-lane incident at the 1971 Saffron Walden Laundry Grand Prix: Drivers… starch your engines!


  6. Hush! That’s where Father was caught letting off steam with an iron maiden he claims was “just pressing his trousers.” Have you ever!

  7. The Tart Says:

    I luv these people … If you ever chronicle all this in a book, put me at the top of the list for a copy. Priceless!!

    Smooch,
    The Tart
    ; *


  8. My dear, if you can get Penguin to offer me a book deal, I’ll dedicate the first 12 volumes to you. At least.

    (And thank you, these people luv you too.)

  9. Parenthesis Says:

    You’re feeling characteristically smooshy and swoony Mrs B? I would have thought starch would have the complete opposite effect. Although depends on what kind of tea it’s been drink-ed in I suppose. You and Kyk been trading secrets? :)

  10. Parenthesis Says:

    And you can count me in on the book deal. You publish, I’ll buy. Or at least read it exhaustively in Exclusive Books :p


  11. Parenthesis: Tea and Kyk are undoubtedly a winning combination, dear – but I’m more of a strumpet and male aficionado, myself. Er, crumpet and ale. Dammit, I like scones and beer, okay? With a little extra starch where it matters. :)

    You, again? Thanks, P. I’m sure you could persuade Ten Miles to part with one of his vouchers, though – I’d hate to see you dragged from the Dan Brown display in handcuffs again. (So that’s, what, two more-or-less confirmed purchases? You know, this might just work…)

  12. daisyfae Says:

    Tea with starch. Ah-HA! The secret of the “stiff upper lip” revealed…


  13. So it has nothing to do with getting one’s knickers in a knot, then? I’ll have to revise some of my insults.


  14. OP: I could be slow (lord knows I have been told lol) but you made totally no sense…


Leave a Reply

