A Nice Touch, Don’t You Think?

February 8, 2008

Edgar gave Olive Cortina’s hand another squeeze.

“Lend me that for a minute”, whispered Virgil,

and nudged it into a popcorn carton

in the next row down.

~*~

Somewhat Threatening Postscript: You won’t forget about the launch of Jesse’s book tonight will you, dears?

Update: I blew in and out of the launch faster than the South-Easter, but not before I got to grab a glass, say hello, and drop a press-hot copy of the book into Jesse’s hand for her John Hancock. I was expecting the usual inscription – you know: firstborn; half the royalties; how I inspired an entire generation of writers and illustrators, but… no. All I got was a lousy signature. That aside, the book is every bit as marvellous as anticipated – and then some. You should run, RUN, to get your copy here, and limited edition prints here.

One Step Closer to the Grave: Thanks to everyone who managed to crack the veil of secrecy and dispatch such kind wishes – and in some cases, gob-smackingly generous sacri… gifts – for my birthday. (And special thanks to Kyk for mentioning me in the same panel as the Grim Reaper and the FSM. I can die happy now.) Most fabulous of you, dears – I’m touched. Also, quite grateful.

Next Week: Less chatter. More splatter.

7 Responses to “A Nice Touch, Don’t You Think?”

  1. kyknoord Says:

    I’ve never really understood the point of book launches. In all the ones I’ve been to, the book has sunk before they’ve even had a chance to break the champagne bottle.

  2. Mrs. Benitez Says:

    You mean… they don’t shoot them from a cannon?

  3. dolceii Says:

    Being a wee bit dyslexic, I always thought it was a book lunch. Until I got a nasty papercut on my tonsils. Silly me.

  4. dolceii Says:

    P.S. Hope the birthing day was filled with much glorious violence and mayhem, Mrs B.

  5. Mrs. Benitez Says:

    You’re lucky the cut didn’t get your tongue, dear.

    And yes, thank you – a splendid weekend was had by all. In fact, I may never be allowed back into the Northern suburbs again.

  6. Parenthesis Says:

    Not allowed into the Northern ‘burbs again. Was that you carousing in the fountain on Saturday evening Mrs B?

  7. Mrs. Benitez Says:

    Um… Whoa! Would you look at the time!


Leave a Reply

