Come Out, Come Out, Wherever You Are…

August 24, 2007

“May I play with Winsomia Purlstein

after school today?” enquired Edna, kicking me

under the table. “Yes, dear”, said Father

resignedly, “I hope you’ll remember to replace

the headstone this time”.

~*~

59 Responses to “Come Out, Come Out, Wherever You Are…”

  1. Two Weeks Notice Says:

    Kids. Never tidy up when they’re done. Winsomia sounds like a real treasure.

  2. Mrs. Benitez Says:

    She is. Kids dig her. ‘Dig’, geddit? No?

  3. Two Weeks Notice Says:

    Oh yes, that’s bury good.

  4. The xGW Says:

    alas, poor Yorick.

  5. infini Says:

    damn I hate it when I get kicked under the table, it always bruises my ribs

  6. Parenthesis Says:

    infini: please explain how being kicked under the table results in bruises to your ribs? Are you vertically challenged? Or do you stand on your head? ;)

    Mrs B: Winsomia, eh? Why does a seriously sleep deprived Winona Ryder spring to mind?

  7. Parenthesis Says:

    infini: unless you’re one of the concrete folk? In which case, surely it’s the kicker rather than the kickee who lands up with bruises ….
    See Martin’s latest …. http://www.d2.co.za/2007/08/22/gnomes.aspx

  8. Mrs. Benitez Says:

    xGW: A grave misfortune, indeed.

    infini: still, better than being swept under the carpet.

    Parenthesis: possibly because I’ve been up all night researching Christian Sla… 80s / 90s teen flicks.

    (I’m not really into Rock ‘n’ Troll, though.)

  9. infini Says:

    Mrs B: yes, I agree, being swept under the carpet is far worse though *muses* its kind of like the pink elephant in the room

  10. Parenthesis Says:

    infini: You’re a DUST BUNNY??!!!!!

  11. infini Says:

    *giggles*

  12. The xGW Says:

    better than a Rampant Rabbit really.

  13. Mrs. Benitez Says:

    Especially if you’re going to try and hold up Ladbrokes with it.

  14. infini Says:

    oh ya right, go on all of you, shove me in a plastic bag and hold up the nearest 7-11

    *stifles giggles at the story though*

  15. Parenthesis Says:

    infini: nice pune there, hold up …. ;)

  16. ekke Says:

    Pune?

    Sounds like an old person digesting something fruity.

  17. infini Says:

    nope its a city outside Mumbai, India

  18. ekke Says:

    Well I’ll be damned.

    Live and learn…

  19. Parenthesis Says:

    Pune, or play on words, a la Pratchett ;)
    But yes, old and slightly wrinkled does come to mind. The Librarian? ;)

  20. ekke Says:

    Hopefully the Librarian.
    Becasue if you’re alluding to me, there’ll be trouble. I use Nivea, dammit. :P

  21. Parenthesis Says:

    Old and wrinkled is not neccessarily a BAD thing infini. Mother Theresa, Ghandi, even Madiba – they are these things and so much more … ;)

  22. infini Says:

    jeez, what did i say? what did I do? i’m not even old and wrinkled…

  23. Mrs. Benitez Says:

    There, there – it’s a wonder Parenthesis remembers anything at her age – let alone who she’s responding to. ;)

    My complexion, of course, still looks fabulous. Bathing in the blood of virgins does that for you.

  24. infini Says:

    ew… the mental picture is decidely yucky. have you tried egyptian asses’ milk instead dear?

  25. Mrs. Benitez Says:

    I’ll give it a whirl. Virgins are so hard to come by these days…

  26. Parenthesis Says:

    infini: I’m projecting ;)

  27. infini Says:

    nah, i’ll confess, I am a sixties babe ;p

  28. ekke Says:

    I’m quite keen to try this bathing in Luxory vibe…

  29. Parenthesis Says:

    infini: ooh, then I should call you m’am, on account of being a late 70’s babe myself ;)

  30. Parenthesis Says:

    Mrs B: I believe yak’s milk is the way to go :)

  31. infini Says:

    parenthesis : yak! but seriously I’ve been partying like a rock star ever since I turned 40 just last year

  32. Parenthesis Says:

    infini: only since then? ;) You need to catch up dear ;)

  33. Mrs. Benitez Says:

    ekke: virgins or asses?

    Parenthesis: I must say, you’re doing awfully well for a woman in her late 70s, dear.

    (Yak, yak, yak… that’s all I hear around this place. I prefer asses, myself.)

    infini: (are you yakking to me? are ya, hey, hey?) Good Lord. I hope it’s not Keith Richards.

  34. ekke Says:

    Definitely not ass milk, thanks.

    And I live in Jozi. Find me a virgin, I’ll show you a fat girl that ate all the pies and slipped in an ugly puddle.

    And is 5 years old.

    :(

  35. infini Says:

    this conversation is disintegrating fast, ekke’s here ;p

    … keith richards, Mrs B? where’d he come from? though… hmmmm

  36. infini Says:

    just figured it out, god I’m slow today, no, I’d say a cross between jagger and bowie ;p

  37. Mrs. Benitez Says:

    ekke: it’s true. I’ve been there.

    infini: thank heavens. I was afraid you were going to counter with Sarah Brightman. Or Pat Boone. Rock On!, young lady.

  38. Parenthesis Says:

    What’s wrong with Sarah Brightman Mrs B? ;)

  39. ekke Says:

    this conversation is disintegrating fast, ekke’s here “””

    Heeeeeey….. :(

  40. Mrs. Benitez Says:

    That Sarah Brightman comment has, of course, just plunged things to an all-time low…

  41. ekke Says:

    Nah. Her hair did that already years ago…

  42. Parenthesis Says:

    Is it just me, or is it Sunday already?
    I’m just saying :)

  43. Fatman Says:

    Ah, this is my kind of thing. Dead people jokes.
    And comments such as these…My complexion, of course, still looks fabulous. Bathing in the blood of virgins does that for you. since I know that somewhere within your bubbly exterior lies the dark soul of a Hungarian serial killer.

    p.s. I don’t know about virgins but I can point you in the direction of people who don’t get laid too often.

  44. Mrs. Benitez Says:

    Fattery gets you nowhere.

  45. Fatman Says:

    So I’ve discovered.

  46. Parenthesis Says:

    Try Face Book. It might :)

  47. Parenthesis Says:

    You’re slipping Mrs B. Second Friday in a row, nogal =p


  48. Mrs. Benitez is resting. Thank you for your patience.

  49. infini Says:

    oooo a talking desk, I like that. me want one too :)

  50. infini Says:

    and parenthesis, is this face book suitable for us geriatric types?

  51. Parenthesis Says:

    infini: it’s loads of fun – try it and see.
    Mrs B: shouldn’t that be from the crypt of? This is acolumninch after all … hurry back :)

  52. crayola dude Says:

    “Fresh Every Friday” se voet in ‘n vispluk… :(

  53. Parenthesis Says:

    I think that’s “blik” ekke, rather than “pluk”. Either way, both very rude =p Mrs B is resting up, apparently. So is Ten Miles, the granny Wrangler [Ex] and Kyknoord. Whatever is going on?

  54. crayola dude Says:

    Weeeeell… I know what’s going on for two out of those four…

  55. Parenthesis Says:

    Yes I know. The Space between Words is gone. I’m still around however …


  56. How tragic. My condolences, dear – T’Space will be sorely missed. Delighted to hear that you won’t be shuffling off this digital coil just yet, though.

    Do keep in touch… even if it’s *from beyond*.

  57. Parenthesis Says:

    Consider me a Minister without Portfolio ;)
    I am on Face Book, though, if you’re ever in that frame of mind, look me up.
    Otherwise I intend being my usually pesky flippant little self and will continue to add my penny’s worth to your noble offerings each Friday, and considerably more in between.
    Happy days ;)

  58. infini Says:

    is it done to ask what happened to the space between the words? it will be missed.

    hullo Mrs B., good to see you back

  59. Mrs. Benitez Says:

    Parenthesis: I’m never in the Facebook frame of mind, dear. (Pester away.)

    infini: All the better to see you with, my de… wait, wrong fairytale. Good to see you too, infini.


Leave a Reply

